Tag Archives: Hall of Fame

2013 Grammy Hall of Fame Inductees


The Recording Academy announced the newest additions to its legendary GRAMMY Hall Of Fame collection.  While inductees range from rock to pop, to showtunes to comedy, there are, of course, a few representatives from country music making their way into the coveted Hall of Fame!  Congratulations to the following country music inductees (though, they pre-date all of our existences in this world!):

Buck Owens
(Johnny Russell, Voni Morrison)
Capitol (1963)
Country (Single)

W.H. Stepp
(Traditional arr. Stepp)
Library of Congress (1937)
Country (Single)

Lester Flatt, Earl Scruggs And The
Foggy Mountain Boys
Columbia (1961)
Country (Album)

Ernest V. “Pop” Stoneman
(Ernest V. “Pop” Stoneman)
Okeh (1924)
Country (Single)

2012 Country Radio Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced

Nashville skyline.

The Country Radio Hall of Fame announced their 2012 inductees this morning. Beverlee Brannigan, Ron Rogers, Moby, Eddie Stubbs, Rusty Walker and Bill Whyte will be formally inducted on Tuesday, February 21st at 6 pm CST at the Nashville Convention Center.

Beverlee, Ron and Rusty will be inducted into the 2012 radio category members; and Moby, Eddie, and Bill will be inducted into the on-air category membership.

The Country Radio Hall of Fame induction ceremony and dinner kicks off the CRS event each year.

Garth Brooks Inducted into Songwriters Hall of Fame

Garth Brooks.

June 16th was a special day for country music star Garth Brooks. Not only was he inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in a New York City gala; but he was inducted by the legendary Billy Joel. Joel also performed “Shameless” before inducting Brooks. Trisha Yearwood was also on hand to celebrate the honor, singing a Hal David medley.

“You talk about songwriters, there’s one of the greatest songwriters of all time,” Brooks said about Joel. “And he’s taken a day out of his life to do this, I feel very lucky.”

Other inductees included Leon Russel, Allen Toussaint, Tom Kelly and John Bettis. Other performers included Drake, “Best I Ever Had,” Chaka Khan, “I’m Every Woman,” Dwight Yoakum, “Superstar,” and Boz Scaggs performed with Toussaint for “What Do You Want The Girl To Do.”

Georgia Music Hall of Fame to shut its doors June 12th


It’s a sad few days for music fans in Macon, Georgia. The Georgia Music Hall of Fame board of directors announced plans to permanently shut down the Hall of Fame on June 12th due to budget cuts and financial instability. While outside bidders put their names forward to fund the historic building, the board of directors were dead-set on closing down the building, the Macon Telegraph is reporting. The Georgia Music Hall of Fame’s inductee list includes the legendary Patty Loveless, Alan Jackson and Trisha Yearwood, to name just a few.

Plans have the exhibits and memorabilia to be spread out throughout Georgia to the university of Georgia, Georgia State University and the University of West Georgia.