Tag Archives: ACM Honors

5th Annual ACM Honors


An array of country music stars filled the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville on Monday night for the 5th Annual ACM Honors. Hosted by Joe Nichols, the event is a ceremony of special awards which are not included in the televised ACM Awards broadcast.

Country icon, Reba McEntire, was presented with the Career Achievement Award. The award recognizes those who have advanced country music popularity through the entertainment industry, and McEntire definitely exemplifies this to the fullest. Music, television, broadway, fashion – She does it all.

To describe McEntire’s career as successful would be a huge understatement. Her name is synonymous with country music and her list of accomplishments are beyond impressive. With a career spanning three decades, McEntire is one of the best-selling country artists of all-time with almost 57 million albums sold. In regards to ACM honors alone, she has been named Female Vocalist of the Year a record-setting seven times and received the coveted Entertainer of the Year award in 1994.

On Monday night, McEntire accepted the honor with a little help from her friends. Ronnie Dunn was on hand to present the award to McEntire while Blake Shelton and George Strait appeared via video message. While accepting her award, McEntire told the audience, “Thank you for putting up with me all these many, many years.”

Taylor Swift was also honored at the ceremony. She received the Jim Reeves International Award, which is presented to the person who has given country music significant recognition internationally. Swift has absolutely been pivotal in gaining such acknowledgment for the genre. She has toured all over the world and has made herself an international music star.

Other award winners included Garth Brooks, Larry Gatlin and the Gatlin Brothers, as well as the hit movie, Country Strong.

Congratulations to all of the honorees!

More Artists Added To ACM Honors Event

Academy of Country Music ACMs

The Academy of Country Music announced new additions to its roster for the ACM Honors event on September 19th, 2011. The Oak Ridge Boys, CNN’s Robin Meade and Brett Elderidge have been added to the star-studded line-up at the historic Ryman Auditorium. The night will be hosted by Joe Nichols who will also perform. Other performers include Rodney Atkins, Randy Houser, Jack Ingram, The Isaacs, Jamey Johnson, Thompson Square, The Whites and LeAnn Womack.

Presenters previously announced include Laura Bell Bundy, Ronnie Dunn, Ralph Emery, and John Michael Montgomery.

The ACM Honors event will honor the winners of non-televised categories of the Academy of Country Music Awards held earlier this year as well as special honorees. For a list of the winners click the “read more” button. Tickets are still available on Ticketmaster at only $35 each.