Search Results for: Justin Niebank

Exclusive: Interview with Brent Rupard

Brent Rupard

“I remember telling my sister when I was very young, ‘I either want to be like Alvin and the Chipmunks or Garth Brooks.’”

That is my favorite quote from my interview with Brent Rupard.

Brent is a proud Kentuckian who took the leap of faith and headed to Nashville in 2010 to pursue his dream and passion – music.

Rupard (pronounced Rooperd he jokingly noted) is from the small town of Shepherdsville, Kentucky. He took a liking to music early in his childhood. After his dad taught him his first guitar chord at age 10, an artist was born as they say and he started writing songs a few years later.

After he made the move to Nashville to pursue his dream career, he soon found a home for his songwriting. With the help of Leann Phelan (ASCAP), he signed a publishing deal with Sea Gayle Music Publishing which is owned by Brad Paisley, Chris DuBois and Frank Rogers.

After about a year of focusing on his writing, he started and is currently working on his debut album. He is hoping for it to be released sometime this year. When asked about his album, he says: “Working on this record has been the highlight of my life. This is a record I’ve always wanted to make. I’ve been fortunate to work on this album with Bryan Simpson and Justin Niebank producing. This record will have the elements of a “rootsy” back porch style with a big ol’ slice of Rock n’ Roll. According to my producer Bryan Simpson, ‘It’s kind of like Garth Brooks meets Levon Helm.’ I have really poured my soul into this project and I hope people get a clear picture of who Brent Rupard is from this debut album.”

Dierks Bentley Hosting ACM Honors


The Academy of Country Music announced this morning that Dierks Bentley will host the 6th annual Academy of Country Music Honors on September 24th in Nashville, Tennessee. The open to the public event will be held at the historic Ryman Auditorium as the Academy honors special honorees and off-camera winners from the 47th annual Academy of Country Music Awards. Tickets are priced at $37 and will go on-sale to the public on Friday, August 17th at 8 pm PST at the Ryman box office and Ticketmaster outlets.

It’s the first time Dierks is hosting the event, which is being held at the Ryman for the third time.

Those being honored include Kenny Chesney, Bobby Braddock, Vince Gill, Emmylou Harris, Gayle Holcomb, Alan Jackson, Billy Sherrill, Ricky Skaggs, and Dwight Yoakam. The evening will also recognize winners of the MBI (musician, bandleader, instrumentalist) and Industry categories. The songwriter of the year award, which has only been handed out once in 1965.

“I’m really looking forward to helping recognize this year’s ACM honorees,” said Bentley. “Country music has so many talented artists, songwriters and people working behind the scenes…I’m flattered that I’ve been asked to stand on stage beside them.”

See the list of honorees below.

Wade Bowen Releasing Album in May

Wade Bowen. photo credit: James Minchin III

Singer-songwriter Wade Bowen will be releasing a 10-song record on May 29th. “The Given” will be Wade’s response to fan demand for one final album before his major label debut. “The Given” is a collection of 10 songs that will precede his major label debut album, that will hold fans over until his record on Sea Gayle/BNA Records. It will be available at all digital music retailers and in select brick and mortar stores. As an added bonus, Wade will be giving his fans a look at the recording process by offering work tapes from the writers’ room at starting on release day, May 29th, 2012.

“The album is called The Given because I feel like all of these amazing opportunities have been given to me by my fans,” explains Bowen.  “They are the reason I get to live my dream every night and they’ve been patiently waiting almost three years now for new music.  So, I’m excited to be able to say ‘here it comes and there’s more on the way!’ I’m so blessed that they’ve stuck with me and that I have a great team at the label who is willing to let me throw the rules out and get this special version for the fans out right away.”  

Produced by Justin Niebank, the 10-song disc reflects Wade’s evolving sound and vision as a songwriter and performer. Wade is a road-tested artist who has spent the last 14 years of his career performing at over 200 shows a year, and he hopes that new fans will hear that side of him on the record. The album includes nine songs written by Wade, and a cover of Townes Van Zandt’s “To Live is To Fly” featuring Guy Clark.

See the official album cover art, and track listing, below:

Early ACM Winners Announced


Kenny Chesney, Vince Gill and Ricky Skaggs are early winners for the 47 annual Academy of Country Music! They were announced today as off-camera winners before the April 1st award show. The telecast airs live on CBS on April 1st from Las Vegas at the MGM Grand Garden Arena at 8 pm EST. They are once against hosted by Reba McEntire and Blake Shelton for the second year in a row. Some awards were announced early due to time constraints of the live broadcast.

The following special awards, industry awards, and MBI awards will be given out in a special ACM Honors ceremony in Nashville on September 24th.

The ACM Special Awards are voted on by the ACM Board of Directors and are awarded when the ACM Board of Directors feels that these are clear and deserving candidates. Industry professionals are voted on by the professional members of the Academy. The MBI category is voted on by professional members of the Academy classified in the Artist-Entertainer/Musician-Bandleader-Instrumentalist category, and the Producer-Engineer-Studio Manager sub-category. The songwriter of the year ballot is voted on by the professional members of the Academy in the following categories; Artist-Entertainer/Musician-Bandleader-Instrumentalist, Composer, Music Publisher/SRO, Record Company, and the Producer/Engineer/Studio Manager membership.

See the full list of winners below:

ACM Nominees for Producer / Engineer / Musicians

acm awards

The Academy of Country Music has just announced the nominees for the producer, engineer, and musician categories for the 47th annual Academy of Country Music Awards. See the list here and congratulations to all the nominees!

The nominees for Producer of the Year are…

Mark Bright
Buddy Cannon
Nathan Chapman
Jay Joyce
Frank Liddell

The nominees for Audio Engineer of the Year are…

Jeff Balding
Derek Bason
John Kelton
Mills Logan
Justin Niebank

The nominees for Bass Player of the Year are…

Mike Brignardello
Kevin “Swine” Grantt
Mark Hill
Michael Rhodes
Jimmy Lee Sloas

The nominees for Percussionist/Drummer of the Year are…

Matt Chamberlain
Chad Cromwell
Shannon Forrest
Chris McHugh
Greg Morrow

See the nominees for “Steel Guitar Player of the Year” ,”Guitar Player of the Year,” “Fiddle Player of the Year,” “Piano/Keyboard Player of the Year,” and “Specialty Instrument Player of the Year” below the “read more” button: