Dierks Bentley Hosting ACM Honors


The Academy of Country Music announced this morning that Dierks Bentley will host the 6th annual Academy of Country Music Honors on September 24th in Nashville, Tennessee. The open to the public event will be held at the historic Ryman Auditorium as the Academy honors special honorees and off-camera winners from the 47th annual Academy of Country Music Awards. Tickets are priced at $37 and will go on-sale to the public on Friday, August 17th at 8 pm PST at the Ryman box office and Ticketmaster outlets.

It’s the first time Dierks is hosting the event, which is being held at the Ryman for the third time.

Those being honored include Kenny Chesney, Bobby Braddock, Vince Gill, Emmylou Harris, Gayle Holcomb, Alan Jackson, Billy Sherrill, Ricky Skaggs, and Dwight Yoakam. The evening will also recognize winners of the MBI (musician, bandleader, instrumentalist) and Industry categories. The songwriter of the year award, which has only been handed out once in 1965.

“I’m really looking forward to helping recognize this year’s ACM honorees,” said Bentley. “Country music has so many talented artists, songwriters and people working behind the scenes…I’m flattered that I’ve been asked to stand on stage beside them.”

See the list of honorees below.

The Academy of Country Music Special Awards are voted on by the ACM Board of Directors and are awarded during years that the Board of Directors feels there are clear and deserving candidates. Honorees include:

  • Bobby Braddock Poet’s Award
  • Kenny Chesney Crystal Milestone Award
  • Vince Gill Career Achievement Award
  • Emmylou Harris Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award
  • Gayle Holcomb Mae Boren Axton Award
  • Alan Jackson Jim Reeves International Award
  • Roger Miller (posthumously) – Poet’s Award
  • Billy Sherrill – Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award
  • Ricky Skaggs – Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award
  • Dwight Yoakam – Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award

The winners of the Musician-Bandleader-Instrumentalist (MBI) awards are voted on by Academy of Country Music members classified in the Artist-Entertainer/MBI category and the Producer/Engineer/Studio Manager subcategory (contained within the Affiliated category) on the final ballot.  Honorees include:

  • Stuart Duncan – Fiddle Player of the Year
  • Shannon Forrest – Percussionist/Drummer of the Year
  • Paul Franklin – Steel Guitar Player of the Year
  • Kenny Greenberg – Guitarist of the Year
  • Aubrey Haynie – Specialty Instrument(s) Player of the Year
  • John Hobbs – Piano/Keyboard Player of the Year
  • Frank Liddell – Producer of the Year
  • Justin Niebank – Audio Engineer of the Year
  • Michael Rhodes – Bass Player of the Year

The winners of the Industry Awards categories are voted on by the membership of the Academy of Country Music on the final ballot.  Honorees include:

  • Jimmy Jay, Jayson Promotions, Inc. – Don Romeo Talent Buyer of the Year
  • Brian O’Connell, Live Nation – Promoter of the Year
  • Billy Bob’s Texas (Ft. Worth, TX) – Nightclub of the Year
  • Bridgestone Arena (Nashville, TN) – Venue of the Year
  • Mandalay Bay Hotel & Casino (Las Vegas, NV) – Casino of the Year

The Songwriter of the Year Award winner is determined by a vote of Academy of Country Music members classified in the Artist-Entertainer/MBI, Composer, Music Publisher/PRO and Record Company categories, along with the Producer/Engineer/Studio Manager subcategory (contained within the Affiliated category) on the final ballot.  Honoree includes:

  • Dallas Davidson

facebook comments:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Current day month ye@r *