VIDEO: ACM Awards – Jason Aldean & Kelly Clarkson Win Single of the Year

It was a sweep for “Don’t You Wanna Stay” at the 47th Academy of Country Music Awards on Sunday night.

Jason Aldean and Kelly Clarkson took home the ACM Award for ‘Single Record of the Year’ for their number one hit, “Don’t You Wanna Stay.”

The pair took the stage to accept the award along with producer, Michael Knox. Aldean graciously thanked the writers for creating a great song. He continued his speech by adding that he wanted a female vocal on the record and the first person that came to his mind was Clarkson. He then told the crowd, that she took the song to a new place.

Clarkson, looking gorgeous in red, thanked Jason and their managers and then sweetly thanked everyone for welcoming her from the pop world. Country music loves you, Kelly! You are welcomed with open arms.

The pair also picked up ‘Vocal Event of the Year’ prior to the ACM Awards’ live broadcast.

“Don’t You Wanna Stay” appears on Aldean’s album, My Kinda Party, as well as on Clarkson’s deluxe edition of her Stronger album.

Watch the video of Jason, Kelly, & Michael accepting their ACM Award:

Continue reading to watch video of Jason in the press room…

Aldean also stopped by the press room for an interview. He discussed the win, his career, working with Clarkson, Thompson Square, and touring.

“The reason I got into this business is I love playing live, I love playing music, and that’s what I want to do.”

Watch the full interview:

Congratulations to Jason, Kelly, and Michael!!!! The honor was very well deserved.

*Photo Credit: Ethan Miller – Getty Images

The following two tabs change content below.