Jerrod Niemann Named ACM New Artist Of The Year Semi-Finalist

The Academy of Country Music (ACM) announced this morning their eight semi-finalists up for voting for New Artist Of The Year. None were more surprised than Jerrod Niemann, who found himself up for nomination in the category after ten years in the business. On hearing that he was nominated for the semi-finalists for New Artist Of The Year, Jerrod had a little something to say:

“After 10 years, it feels great to be a New Artist because it would really be a little more awkward if it was 10 more years,” shares Niemann. “So I’ll take it when I can get it, and I’ll tell ya, better late than never, and in my case, it’s right on time.”

Other nominees include Thompson Square, Brantley Gilbert, David Nail, JT Hodges, Justin Moore, Scotty McCreery, and Hunter Hayes. See the full list of nominees for the semi-finalists below. The finalists will be chosen by interactive fan voting starting on Monday, January 16th on at 9 am EST. The final nominees will be decided by a combined fan vote on both GAC and the voteACM website as well as professional voting by the ACM membership to decide the final three nominees. Voting closes on January 30th at noon EST.

The 47th annual Academy of Country Music Awards will air live on CBS on April 1st. Blake Shelton and Reba McEntire return to co-host the event for the second straight year.

NEW ARITST OF THE YEAR semi-finalists are:

  • ·         Brantley Gilbert
  • ·         Hunter Hayes
  • ·         JT Hodges
  • ·         David Nail
  • ·         Jerrod Niemann
  • ·         Justin Moore
  • ·         Scotty McCreery
  • ·         Thompson Square


The following two tabs change content below.
A 26 year-old Canadian girl currently living in England for a culinary career. Fell in love with country music and cooking at a young age, and looks for a way to do both.