“Larry’s Country Diner” Serves Up Another Heapin-Helpin’ of Country Music Favorites

While there may only be eighteen tables at Larry’s Country Diner,” it services 1.4 million people each and every month as one of the top-rated shows on the RFD television network.  The diner is not your ordinary restaurant, but rather a unique down-home variety show that in just over two short years has become a favorite “eatery” of country fans everywhere.  Sure, patrons who visit the diner will get a hot meal of southern-fare, but the cornbread and black-eyed peas only complement the heapin’ helpin’ of country music performances served up by the stars of yesterday and today.  Past guests include Bill Anderson,John Conlee, Jimmy Fortune, Neal McCoy, Darryl Worley, Suzy Bogguss, Aaron Tippin, Charlie Louvin, Con Hunley, The Roys, Barbara Fairchild, Jeannie Seely, Doyle Lawson & Quick Silver, The Cleverlys, Jean Shepard, Ronny Robbins, Robyn Young, Rodeo & Juliet, Jimmy Capps, Teea Goans, Exile, Collin Raye, Buck Trent, Johnny Lee, The Oak Ridge Boys, Jimmy C. Newman, Jenee Fleenor, Ed Bruce, Gordon Mote, Bobby Bare, Jim Ed Brown, Gene Watson, Charlie McCoy, James Gregory, T. Graham Brown, The Whites, Mike Snider, Shelly West, Billy Crammer, Joey & Rory, Buddy Greene, Jeff Taylor, Justin Trevino, Leona Williams, David Frizzell, Janie Fricke, Dallas Frazier, Bobby Marquez, Sonny Curtis, Ray Pillow, Gary Morris, The Isaacs, George Hamilton IV, Rhonda Vincent, Larry Cordle and Lonesome Standard Time, The Gatlin Brothers, Riders in the Sky, Mandy Barnett, Ray Stevens, The Grascals, Dailey & Vincent.    

You can catch a new show every week in January on the RFD network:

Week of
Jan.   5: The Quebe Sisters Band
Jan. 12: Marty Raybon
Jan. 19: Buddy Jewell
Jan. 26: Daryle Singletary and (steel guitarist) Mike Johnson

Air times for “Larry’s Country Diner” are Thursday night at 7 P.M. CST/8 P.M EST, Friday morning at 9 A.M. CST/10 A.M. EST, or Saturday evening from 10 P.M. CST/11 P.M. EST.  For more information on “Larry’s Country Diner,” please visit larryscountrydiner.com.

Taped bi-monthly in front of a live studio/diner audience at NorthStar Studios (3201 Dickerson Pike, Nashville), the show’s spontaneity is part of the mystique of “Larry’s Country Diner” which contributes greatly to its success.  “The prevailing attitude at the diner is ‘…the cameras are always rollin’… and we don’t care,’” explains Larry Black, host and creator of “Larry’s Country Diner.”

The fact that plates are dropped or broken during a performance, a rack of knives and forks are dumped on the floor or that some of the lights go out while they were filming makes the show all that more exciting in a day where even reality shows are produced within strict script guidelines.  “It’s the kind of television you just don’t see too much anymore and both the artists and fans love it,” states Black who adds, “We even tell our artists that once the tape starts rolling, it does not stop.  If you get yourself in trouble, get yourself out ‘cause we’re not stoppin’.”

Because of its popularity, getting a seat to see a live taping might prove more difficult than getting a reservation at one of L.A.’s most trendy posh restaurants—the first tables available are currently for the June 2012 taping, so you’ll want to plan way in advance.  For reservations, please call 615-673-2846 or email paula@gabrielcommunications.com.

The following two tabs change content below.